FAIRFORD & DISTRICT U3A

Minutes of the 25th Annual General Meeting held on Tuesday 2nd April 2019 at 2.30 pm in the Palmer Hall, Fairford.

- **Apologies for absence:** John and Val Higgs, Graham and Kay Hobbs, John Stewart and Doug Crowley.
- 2 **Approval of 2018 AGM Minutes:** Approved and accepted as a true record.

Proposed: Michael Yorke

Seconded: Barbara Ellen-Mitchell

- 3 **Matters Arising from the Minutes:** None
- 4 **Chairman's Report**:

MG introduced our new proposed Secretary, Peter Hewes and the proposed Vice Chair to the members. She then read out her report for the past year. Please find this attached.

There are now 396 paid up members, with subscriptions still outstanding. Members were asked to renew these as soon as possible.

5 Treasurer's Report and the Presentation of the Examined Accounts for year ending 31 January 2019

Mr Geoff Dennis presented the above accounts. He explained that these had been examined by Mr Alexander Nisbet, the Treasurer of Cirencester U3A, in a reciprocal arrangement with Cirencester.

They were found to be an accurate reflection of the finances of Fairford U3A for that period with a recommendation to include income, expenditure and cash balances of individual groups within the U3A. Mr Dennis will be contacting Group Leaders to put this in place.

Accounts approved by: Sylvia Jones Seconded by: Heather Baber

Election of Committee members:

Ms Marilyn Gibbon was elected to stand again as Chairman

Proposed by: John Lang

Seconded by: Carole McDerment

Unanimously accepted.

Mr Michael Bottomley was elected to stand as Vice Chairman

Proposed by: Alan Topham Seconded by: Michael Johnson

Mr Peter Hewes was elected to stand as Secretary

Proposed by: Freda Lang Seconded by: Gill Compton

Mr Geoff Dennis was elected to stand again as Treasurer

Proposed by: Garry Stephenson

Seconded by: Sue Martin

The rest of the Committee were proposed and seconded en bloc.

Proposed by Michael Yorke Seconded by: Alan Topham

Therefore the 2019 Committee of the Fairford U3A is as follows:

Role	Nominee
Chairman	Marilyn Gibbon
Vice Chairman	Michael Bottomley
Treasurer	Geoff Dennis
Secretary	Peter Hewes
Minutes Secretary	Carol Stewart
Group Co-Ordinator	Carole McDerment
Editor in Chief	Alan Eagle
Programme Secretary	Jen Thoburn
Hall Manager	John Lang
Webmaster	Doug Crowley
Beacon and GDPR	Garry Stephenson
Membership Secretary	Sue Jonson
Committee Member (Membership Sec (2))	Jo Stichbury
Trip Co-Ordinator	Sue Martin

The members voted in the new Committee by a unanimous show of hands.

7 Appointment of the Accounts Examiner:

Mr Alexander Nisbet was thanked and reappointed.

Proposed by: John Lang Seconded by: Geoff Dennis

8 Any Other Business:

None